Civil Services


What is IAS?

Founded in 1858 as Imperial Civil Service (ICS) and then later on 26th January 1950 changed to Indian Administrative Service (IAS - Bhāratīya Praśāsanika Sevā) is an administrative arm of the All India Services where the recruitment happens through Civil Services Examination. Often people call it the mother of all examinations in India. It is one of the toughest nationwide competitive examination in India and is considered to be the premier civil service of India.

The exam is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for the recruitment of officers to various cadre for the All India Administrative Civil Service.

IAS is a part of permanent bureaucracy in India along with Indian Police Service (IPS) and Indian Forest Service (IFS) and is an inseparable part of the executive of Government of India. It remains politically neutral and guarantees administrative continuity to the ruling party.

Being an IAS Officer

An IAS officer can be employed by Union government, State governments and public-sector undertakings. An IAS officer gets to have exposure in diverse roles like The District Collector, Commissioner, Head of Public Sector Units, Cabinet Secretary, Chief Secretary etc. IAS officers can also represent Government of India at international level in bilateral and multilateral negotiations. When on deputation outside India, an IAS officer can be employed in intergovernmental organisations like the World Bank (WB), the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB), the Asian Development Bank (ADB) and the United Nations (UN), or its agencies.

Eligibility Criteria to apply the Civil service Exam

To apply for this examination, you should must eligible in certain criteria, as we know that eligibility is an entry point in any examination.

  • The candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • The candidate should have a degree from Central, State or Deemed University. Degree from Correspondence Education or distance education, the open university is also accepted.
  • The candidate age must be 21 years old and not must be greater than 32 years old. For Open category is restrict to 32 years, for OBC category is restrict to 35 years and for SC/ST it is restricted to 37 years old.
  • Number of attempts is limited, for Open category it is limited to 6 attempts, for OBC category it is limited to 9 attempts and for SC/ST candidate there is no limitation (Any number of attempts)

Selection Process

There are three stages of selection process –

  1. Preliminary Test
  2. Mains Written Exam
  3. Interview

Number of vacancies are notified by UPSC which remains around 700-1000 for civil services. But only top 70-100 candidates are allotted Indian Administrative ServiceIndian Police Service is second most opted choice among services, third is Indian Foreign Service, Fourth is Indian Revenue Services and then other civil services follows.